Writing.

“A writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.”  – Thomas Mann

I stumbled across this quote on the @AdviceToWriters Twitter account not long ago and it’s really stuck with me.

As a young writer there are times I question why I chose this career path. In my day-to-day job, I write seven stories every week. The second I close a week of writing, I’m already preparing for the next….and the next. I’m writing a book. I freelance. I like to post on my blog. I even wrote a speech this week.

I write more than I ever thought I would and it’s tough. It’s tougher than I thought, especially when the writing part just doesn’t come easy.

In a world where, through social media, we see people post story after story after story, with so much content circling around at such a rapid pace, I think it’s easy to feel like you’re the only one who sits in front of a blank computer screen, knowing the potential your story has, but unable to get it down.

It’s not writers block. No, I don’t like that choice of words.

That’s why I like this quote.

“A writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.”

It’s not like when I was in college and I had to write a paper for a grade and just couldn’t think of the good words, the words to get you by. That’s writers block.

It’s thinking of the right words, the telling words, the words that will give your story the justice it deserves because you were there.

It’s a responsibility. In my line of work, I tell stories about other people. You don’t want to mess that up. I tell stories about great people. People I often admire.

Words are powerful and, I believe, the longer you write, the greater this realization becomes.

For me, while it’s made me love writing even more, it hasn’t made it easier.

I overthink. I overwrite. I over-edit, delete and rewrite before realizing the lede I started with was the most telling. Then I usually go back to that lede anyways. It’s a crazy, messy, process, but, through it all, I love it.

And this quote tells me that maybe, maybe I’m not the only writer out there like this.

– Kelly

Leave a Reply

